Christmas, Christmas! You’re Nearly Here!

It’s that most spectacular time of the year… almost!

Between coming and going, skipping across prefectures and countries, I’ve seen quite the kaleidoscope of Christmas decor. Despite it all, I can’t help feeling a bit removed. As a child, I looked forward to the seemingly endless days of cheer, song, and candy canes. Now I can’t seem to catch them for long enough to feel anything at all. As the calendar days fill up with things to do, people to meet, places to see, the real enjoyment is sucked away. I’ve done a fair bit of reading on emotions and human motivations, and it seems a mindset of scarcity is one of the biggest problems we face. Yet how can we stretch the calendar to feel plentiful when the Xs across days grow faster than those remaining in anticipation of the big day? And everyone knows that once Christmas is over, the cold of winter seeps in and stays until the first sign of spring.

To not sound overly pessimistic, since that was never the intention, I just want to state how excited I really am. So this is me saying, let’s enjoy the holidays. Whether all that remains is one day or twenty, it shouldn’t affect the beauty of the carols, the brightness of the lights, or the heart-warming feeling of holiday cheer.

Carry on!

What are you thinking? Let me know :)

