Vietnamese Food Discovery

Greetings from Hanoi, Vietnam!

The weather? Colder than anticipated. The views? Very interesting. Coming at Tet, or New Year’s here, was a mistake and a blessing in disguise. While most shops and restaurants were closed yesterday, I got to see how people live, celebrate, enjoy as families. It was a great experience.
My meals over the last day, mostly thanks to a ginormous five plate lunch, have given me the chance to try many unique dishes.

Now, as I head off toward Halong Bay and a two day sail, I listen to the food restrictions of other passengers and wonder how they can take part in such an essential part of cultural travel: food. Nearly everyone on my bus won’t touch meat products and half are vegan. Did I get on the wrong bus? Nothing is wrong with personal choices, but it sure deducts from the experience. I always choose veggies and fish over meat, but I will try everything once.

20130212-171348.jpg

20130212-171400.jpg

20130212-171410.jpg

20130212-171418.jpg

20130212-171425.jpg

20130212-171432.jpg

What are you thinking? Let me know :)

