Israeli Treats in Ebisu

IMG_1418

Living in Japan, you will eventually (perhaps frequently) reach a point where you long for variation in your eating routine. Luckily, Tokyo is fraught with a vast array of choices. As an avid fan of “lunching,” I love finding new places in which to relax and enjoy new flavors and cuisines. That being said, I also have some kind of sushi or donburi (rice bowl with raw fish) 2-3 times a week, in addition to other types of Japanese cuisine. Japanese food will always be among my favorites. However, trying new food is always a fun time, hence my expeditions both online and on foot to discover delicious finds.

This past weekend, my boyfriend and I decided to try out a place on my “to eat” list: Ta’Im. It was pretty darn cold on Sunday and Ta’Im was a brisk walk from Ebisu station. We didn’t know exactly where it was, but Google Maps decided to be nice and not let us freeze. I’ve often had major troubles locating shops through my iPhone, so I was relieved to find the little corner shop of Ta’Im right away.

I was immediately happy. Between the coziness of the little restaurant and the warmth of the shop keeper and waitress, I felt immediately at home. We chose the window seating which was lined with empty glass bottles that were filled with yellow flowers. Very cute. I suppose the other reason I felt so comfortable and happy was because it reminded me of New York. Ta’Im would fit in nicely there, perhaps in the Village or Upper West Side. I’ve been missing home a lot lately. Bet my mother would be happy to read this.

IMG_1420

IMG_1421

 

 

 

When it came to selecting our food, we had to choose from among four lunch options. My boyfriend immediately chose the falafel – hardly an impulse considering that was his target from the start. I, on the other hand, was torn between falafel and something lighter. I chose the chicken satay, light on oil, instead. The falafel dish came first and I started to feel some regret. My bite allowance was incredible – just the right amount of crisp, though I wished the four balls had been a bit larger. My platter came out a bit later and I felt my regret melt away. The chicken and vegetable satay was perfect (well, a little oilier than requested, but otherwise perfect). The stay sat on top a bed of salad and beside delicious company: roasted potatoes, three pita slices, and hummus. I drooled a bit and prevented devouring my dish in order to slowly enjoy each bite.

Before leaving, we had a nice short chat with the owner of Ta’Im. He was very friendly and welcomed us to return.

I think I’ll take him up on that offer.

What are you thinking? Let me know :)

