These are a few of my favorite things…

When the dog bites. When the bee stings. When I’m feeling sad.

I simply remember my favorite things….

With the coming of Christmas and all the holiday tunes that surround us, “My Favorite Things” always seems to find its way into stores and radio programming. I’m still not sure why it has developed a Christmas association – perhaps the listing of wanted things? – yet over time I’ve come to appreciate the fact that I can hear it at least once a year. Long gone are the days of musical theatre and I miss them dearly, so any pleasant reminder is a welcome one.

And so, in honor of my favorite things and the spirit of childhood wishlist-making, here are the things I simply wouldn’t be as happy without. I’m a simple girl. 🙂

Sarabeth’s Chunky Apple preserves — not too gooey, not too sweet; with the perfect mix of cinnamon

My dream stand mixer, KitchenAid Artisan Susan G. Komen Stand Mixer in “Raspberry Ice”

And my own personal one that has been loyal and reliable since high school.. especially during my “Keebler Factory” moments of mass-producing Christmas cookies for friends and neighbors

butterscotch gingerbread cookies

Gingerbread cookies. Just made some last night (more of actual gingerbread..) but these are a cute take on the usual Gingermen we know and love. Click the link for the recipe 🙂

Starbucks Gingerbread Lattes… no holiday is complete without one.. or two..or.. hehehe

I can’t remember the first time I enjoyed a gingerbread latte but it was love at first sip. I’ve had my mini taste affairs with other holiday flavors, but none compares with my true love.

My favorite female singers. Seeing them live would undoubtedly be an incredible experience, but even just playing their songs (nonstop) at home or on the go brings me a calming joy I cannot explain. Thank you, ladies 🙂

IMG_0496

The love of my life, Gizmo. Loyal friend (younger brother?) and companion for the past 11 years, Gizmo is my favorite fuzzy being in all the world. I wish I could spend more time with him. Though I used to dislike walking him in high school, now I enjoy taking daily strolls when I visit home once a year. Miss you, puppy.

______________________________________________________________________

(and then I don’t feel.. so bad!!)

And then I feel.. so glad!

What are you thinking? Let me know :)

