Happy 4th of July!

It’s that time of the year again (no, not Christmas!): the Fourth of July.

I happen to love this holiday because it’s the one time of year I can stuff my face with classic diner foods and call it a dose of Americana.

While celebrations in the States are a fun-filled mix of watermelon, BBQ foods, bug spray, and fireworks, the fourth of July in any other country is just a day.  A hot, muggy day, but a typical one nonetheless.

So how does one enjoy amidst the normality, while happy memories of childhood past tug on the mind? It’s quite simple: cook a big ol’ American-inspired dinner, wear red, white, and blue, paint your toenails patriotically (tin foil stars required), and make fun of your English boyfriend for losing the war.

Well, anyway, that’s the plan!

Clothing and toenails? Done. Dinner preparations? 80%. Typing this up in Programming II class instead of learning hieroglyphics? Going wonderfully.

And now for tonight’s menu:

Guacamole Grilled Cheese (with added chicken in mine)

Blue Cheese Cobb Salad (not taken from a recipe but from a colossal amount of veggies in my fridge)

Also included in text not images: avocado tortilla chips!

And last but not least (my favorite actually),

Because no Fourth of July is complete without tons of cold, messy watermelon.

Case closed.

(By the way, if you’re wondering — I’m aware these aren’t really traditional celebratory foods.. but I’ve been craving grilled cheese.. and it’s typically American, right? I rest my case.)

What are you thinking? Let me know :)

